Pinterest Google+


The article was written by Brookley Valencia

 The Restaurant Association of Metropolitan Washington (RAMW) hosted the 37th annual RAMMY Awards on Sunday, June 30 at the Walter E.  Washington Convention Center. A truly tasteful night of food, drink and community. It was a celebration honoring our local foodservice industry professionals; A well-deserved party dedicated to the individuals that keep our lives full of flavor and provide our city with countless exciting spots to dine, drink and hangout.

It was a joyful evening of restaurant teams, friends and food enthusiast. Mayor Muriel Bowser was in attendance for the celebration and one of the announcers during the awards ceremony. “I want to thank you all for what you do each and every day to bring joy to people’s lives who live here, work here and visit Washington, DC,” Mayor Bowser said. “Our restaurants blend the best of everything our city has to offer, exemplifying the diversity that is Washington, DC and the vibrancy that is Washington, DC.”

The RAMMY awards included 20 categories such as Upscale Brunch of the Year, Cocktail Program of the Year, New Restaurant of the Year and Chef of the Year. The winners provide a new checklist for your must-eat and must-drink restaurants in DC.

The winners of the 37th Annual RAMMY Awards are:

Upscale Brunch of the Year: Unconventional Diner

Casual Brunch of the Year: Compass Rose Bar & Kitchen

Favorite Gathering Place of the Year: Open Road

Favorite Fast Bites of the Year: Taco Bamba Taqueria

Service Program of the Year: Ambar – Clarendon

Beer Program of the Year: Republic

Cocktail Program of the Year: barmini by José Andrés

Wine Program of the Year: Maxwell Park

Casual Restaurant of the Year: Royal

Employee of the Year: Valentine King, Hummingbird Bar and Kitchen

Manager of the Year: Donna Seal, Oceanaire

Regional Food and Beverage Producer of the Year: Ivy City Smokehouse

Formal Fine Dining Restaurant of the Year: The Source by Wolfgang Puck

New Restaurant of the Year: Spoken English

Upscale Casual Restaurant of the Year: Iron Gate

Pastry Chef of the Year: Ana Deshaies, Unconventional Diner

Rising Culinary Star of the Year: Kwame Onwuachi, Kith/Kin

Restaurateur of the Year: Michael Friedman, Mike O’Malley, Colin McDonough & Gareth Croke, Redstone Restaurant Group (All Purpose, Boundary Stone, The Red Hen)

Chef of the Year: Kyle Bailey, The Salt Line

Joan Hisaoka Allied Member of the Year: The Veritas Law Firm

Duke Zeibert Capital Achievement Award: Virginia Ali, Ben’s Chili Bowl/Ben’s Chili Bowl Foundation

2019 Honorary Milestone RAMMY Award: The Bombay Club (30 years), Ristorante i Ricchi (30 years), Moby Dick House of Kabob (30 years), Silver Diner (30 years), Taberna del Alabardero (30 years)and Lebanese Taverna (40 years)

John G. Laytham Exceptional Leadership and Impact Award: Claude Andersen, Clyde’s Restaurant Group

For more information regarding the winners of these awards, visit therammys.org.